Trusted by Students Everywhere
Why Choose Us?
0% AI Guarantee

Human-written only.

24/7 Support

Anytime, anywhere.

Plagiarism Free

100% Original.

Expert Tutors

Masters & PhDs.

100% Confidential

Your privacy matters.

On-Time Delivery

Never miss a deadline.

Compute the breakeven point in units, assuming that the planned revenue mix is maintained

Accounting Oct 12, 2020

Compute the breakeven point in units, assuming that the planned revenue mix is maintained. 2. Compute the breakeven point in units (a) if only standard carriers are sold and (b) if only deluxe carriers are sold. 3. Suppose 180,000 units are sold, but only 60,000 of them are deluxe. Compute the operating income. Compute the breakeven point if these relationships persist in the next period. Compare your answers with the original plans and the answer in requirement 1. What is the major lesson of this problem? Requirement 1. Compute the breakeven point in units, assuming that the planned sales mix is attained. Data Table Begin by determining the sales mix. For every 2 deluxe unit(s) sold standard units are sold. Total Standard Carrier 108,000 Deluxe Carrier 72,000 Units sold 180,000 Revenues at $30 and $45 per unit $ 3,240,000 $ 2,376,000 3,240,000 $ 1,944,000 6,480,000 4,320,000 Variable costs at $22 and $27 per unit $ 1,296,000 Contribution margin at $8 and $18 per unit 864,000 $ 2,160,000 1,800,000 Fixed costs $ 360,000 Operating income 

Expert Solution


1)Weighted Contribution Margin per unit = (3 x $8 + 2 x $18) / 5 = $12 per unit

Break even point = Fixed Costs / Weighted Contribution Margin per unit
= $1800000 / 12 = 150000 units

Standard = 150000 / 5 x 3 = 90000 units
Deluxe = 150000 / 5 x 2 = 60000 units

2)
(a) Break even point = Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin per unit
= $1800000 / 8 = 225000 units of Standard

(b) Break even point = Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin per unit
= $1800000 / 18 = 100000 units of Deluxe

3)

  Standard Deluxe Total
Units Sold 120000 60000 180000
Sales Revenue $ 3,600,000 $     2,700,000 $ 6,300,000
Variable Costs $ 2,640,000 $     1,620,000 $ 4,260,000
Contribution Margin $     960,000 $    1,080,000 $ 2,040,000
Fixed Costs     $ 1,800,000
Operating Income     $     240,000

Weighted Contribution Margin per unit = (2 x $8 + 1 x $18) / 3 = $11.33 per unit

Break even point = Fixed Costs / Weighted Contribution Margin per unit
= $1800000 / 11.33 = 158824 units or 158870

Standard = 158824 / 3 x 2 = 105883 units or 105913
Deluxe = 158824 / 3 x 1 = 52941 units or 52957

Break even point decreases if there is higher proportion of Standard since it has lower unit contribution margin

Archived Solution
Unlocked Solution

You have full access to this solution. To save a copy with all formatting and attachments, use the button below.

Already a member? Sign In
Important Note: This solution is from our archive and has been purchased by others. Submitting it as-is may trigger plagiarism detection. Use it for reference only.

For ready-to-submit work, please order a fresh solution below.

Or get 100% fresh solution
Get Custom Quote
Secure Payment